North of 401
Baltimore is a hamlet located just north of the town of Cobourg in the southeast portion of Northumberland County.
First settled by Irish immigrant John McCarty around 1805, it was named after his family's ancestral home in Baltimore, County Cork, Ireland. It is best known today for the presence of historic Ball's Mill, built in 1842.
The first land grant was made to Nellie Grant who was the daughter of a colonial administrator in 1794, The early local name for Bewdley was Black’s Landing, taken from a tavern in the area. Early on the sawmills in the area drove settlement.
Bewdley, founded by William Bancks is a community on the western end of Rice Lake named after Bewdley, England. He came to the area in 1833 and tried to organize the creation of a gentlemen's colony and a sawmill. The town is known for its monument to Joseph M. Scriven, who preached upon the village streets around the 1860s. Today Bewdley is known as an enjoyable vacation spot on Rice Lake for tourist and fishing.
A picturesque community north of Cobourg with a population of approximately 350.
Settled in the early and mid 19th century by United Empire Loyalists and immigrants primarily from the United Kingdom in the early- and mid-19th century. It was established as a rural, agricultural community.
Campbellcroft is a rural hamlet located north of Port Hope, Founded by Scottish settlers in the early 1800s as a farming community, Campbellcroft reached its apex during the late 1800s thanks to the economic spinoffs brought by The Port Hope, Lindsay & Beaverton Railway Company (The Midland Railway).
At the turn of the 20th century, the village was home to a hotel, rail infrastructure, post office, grist mill and more. With the abandonment of the Midland Railway in 1957, the village's economic importance and population fell into decline. In the late 20th century, farming gradually was supplanted by other professions and the area developed a dominant commuter population.
Campbellford is located north of Brighton and lies approximately midway between Toronto and Ottawa. It has approximately 3,800 inhabitants and is on both the Trent-Severn Waterway and the Trans Canada Trail. The town features a 27 ft high statue of a toonie (the unofficial name for Canada's two-dollar coin). A local artist, Brent Townsend, created the polar bear image seen on it.
Its history traces back to the first part of the 19th century and is still known today for its many fine Victorian homes. The town has a brewery (Church-Key Brewing Company) and a cheese factory (Empire Cheese). Notable local businesses include Clarion Boats, a highly specialized wooden boat builder and restoration shop and Prototype Research & Development Ltd, which builds replicas of classic cars.
Campbellford also has a vibrant arts community. It is home to the WestBen Arts Festival Theatre; the Bad Poetry Blues Band; and the Aron Cinema, which shows both movies and live entertainment. Ferris Provincial Park is located on the Trent River a short distance south of Campbellford. To enter the park from the west visitors cross the Trent River on the Ranney Gorge Suspension Bridge.
Castleton is located North of highway 401 in Cramahe Township. The village was first settled by the McKagues from County Cavan, Ireland.
Centreton is an unincorporated community located north of Grafton. It has a population of about 130 people, with little fluctuation in the past 100 years.
During the 1800s the population was around 250 and two saw mills were operated in the village. When the saw mills closed, the population declined. At one point the village contained 2 churches, 2 sawmills, a one room school house and a general store. At the present, only one of the churches is left and is used as the community hall and Centreton Public Library. The school house is now a private residence, and the saw mills have gone, although there is still some logging done in the Northumberland Forest north of the village.
Centreton has always been a farming community and there are still many farms operating in the area. In the past, the large majority of farms in the area grew tobacco, but after the market declined in the mid 1980s, the local farms switched to other crops and produce. There is a large hydroponic greenhouse growing tomatoes just west of the village as well as many farms growing corn, soya beans, and cereals.
Gore's Landing's modern history began in 1844, however the area was the home to the Palaeo-Indians who were thought to inhabit the area about 11,500 years ago. The area reminded many British settlers of the lakes and scenery of their homeland and their legacy of sketches, paintings and writings has given the hamlet a rich historic heritage.
The rolling Oak Ridges moraine and recumbent drumlin islands in Rice Lake give Gore's Landing an enchanting setting. Its aesthetic appeal. One of Gore's Landings earlier residents was Catharine Parr Traill who was one of Canada's foremost early writers and her records give an invaluable glimpse of pioneer life at Gore's Landing.
Gore's Landing was an important canoe and boat-building centre for over a hundred years. Daniel Herald, who's canoe known, as Herald's Patent Cedar Canoe and was a double cedar canoe, planked inside and outside won many medals for Herald at international exhibitions in the late 1800's.
Today, Gore's Landing is a port-of-call for tourists & boaters who are traveling Rice Lake and the Trent-Severn Waterway.
Roseneath was founded over 170 years ago by settlers who named it after a Scottish village on the shores of Loch Gare. It is presently a community of about 658 people.
Roseneath’s two main claims to fame are it’s fairground and the fully restored 1906 C.W. Parker Carousel. This stunning heritage carousel is known not just across Canada but internationally and people come from all over the world to see it.” The Carousel is an antique, museum - quality, restored, rideable Carousel built in Abilene Kansas with 40 basswood horses and 2 boats and has been owned by the Roseneath Agricultural Society since 1932. Music comes from 125 Wurlitzer military band organ built in 1934 complete with paper rolls.
Whether your passion is hiking, gardening, art, shopping, music, theatre or simply enjoying fresh, country air, Warkworth holds a treasure trove of discoveries for you. The Millennium Trail meanders beside a gurgling brook; several studios showcase local and regional art and sculpture; specialty shops delight you with unique accessories for your home and garden; our historic town hall newly named the Warkworth Town Hall Centre for the Arts regularly hosts professional actors and musicians.
Cossetted by seven picturesque hills, Warkworth is both a farming community and a centre for the arts. Stay overnight in either a B & B in the village or out in the country. Hearty fare is available in our local restaurants and lighter repasts are offered in a stylish coffee house. What makes Warkworth unique? Relaxing and safe, it is that unique blend of a friendly country village and uptown style. Warkworth welcomes you.
Steeped in agricultural tradition, the countryside surrounding the village of Warkworth still engages in this livelihood. Third and fourth generation farms host the major operations; however, several changes are evident. The size of farms has increased and new ventures have evolved. With the advent of technological improvements, one family farm now encompasses land that might have supported 10 families in the early 1900’s. Dairy and beef are still the main venues, followed closely by cash cropping and pork. One major poultry and egg production operation has been a family mainstay for the past three generations. In recent years, sheep farming is on the rise along with specialty agriventures - maple syrup, honey, bison, elk, llama, ostrich, horticulture (fruit, vegetables, flowers and ornamental plants) and organic market gardening. Farm gate sales are a specialty of the area.
Although agriculture is the 5th largest industry in Percy Ward, many of our local farm families supplement their agricultural income with off-farm employment. Farmers, young and old, inexperienced, hobby and veteran, gather at the Warkworth Farm Supply to seek advice, purchase supplies, and promote their products. Organizations, that traditionally were a part of agriculture, such as 4-H and Women’s Institute, open their doors to all members of the community. On the second full weekend in March maple syrup production is highlighted at the Warkworth Maple Syrup Festival. In August many of the various sectors of agriculture can be visited while on tour with Rural Ramble. The Percy Agricultural Society organizes the Warkworth Fall Fair, held each year on the weekend in September following Labour Day.
Agriculture is alive and well in the countryside surrounding Warkworth. Do drop by for a taste of our heritage. Visit our web site at: /www.warkworth.ca